Print

Governing Board

Thomas J. Jordan, Chairman of the Governing Board, Zurich

Thomas J. Jordan was born in Bienne, Switzerland in 1963. He studied economics and business studies at the University of Berne, completing his degree in 1989 and his doctorate in 1993. He wrote his post-doctoral thesis (Habilitation) during a three-year post-doctoral research period at the Department of Economics at Harvard University in Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA. The University of Berne appointed him lecturer (Privatdozent) in 1998 and honorary professor in 2003. He lectures there in monetary theory and policy.

In 1997, Thomas J. Jordan joined the Swiss National Bank (SNB) in Zurich as an Economic Advisor in Department I. Two years later, he was appointed Assistant Director of the Economic Studies unit, and in 2002 he became Head of the Research unit. At the beginning of 2004, he was promoted to Director. With effect from mid-2004, the Swiss Federal Council appointed him an Alternate Member of the Governing Board. In this function, he headed the Financial Markets unit in Department III (Money Market and Foreign Exchange, Asset Management, Risk Management and Financial Market Analysis). Effective May 2007, he was appointed Member of the Governing Board by the Federal Council. At the same time, he became Head of Department III (Financial Markets, Banking Operations and Information Technology). With effect from the beginning of 2010, the Federal Council appointed him Vice-Chairman of the Governing Board and he took over management of Department II in Berne (Financial Stability, Cash, Finance and Risk). On 18 April 2012, Thomas J. Jordan was appointed Chairman of the Governing Board by the Federal Council and thereby also Head of Department I in Zurich (Economic Affairs, International Monetary Cooperation, Legal and Property Services, Secretariat General). He was Chairman of the Board of Directors of the SNB’s ‘StabFund’, the stabilisation fund, from its foundation in 2008 until it was wound up in 2013.

Thomas J. Jordan is a member of the Board of Directors of the Bank for International Settlements (BIS) in Basle and the Steering Committee of the Financial Stability Board (FSB). He is the Governor of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) for Switzerland, and also Chairman of the G10 Central Bank Counterfeit Deterrence Group (CBCDG). Thomas J. Jordan is a Board member of a foundation whose aim is to promote a master’s course in law and economics at the University of St Gallen, a member of the Board of Trustees of the ETH Zurich Foundation, as well as President of the foundation Board of the International Center for Monetary and Banking Studies (ICMB) in Geneva. He has published numerous articles on monetary theory and policy in leading international journals.

Thomas J. Jordan is married and the father of two children.

Relevant affiliations

Currently no relevant affiliations

Fritz Zurbrügg, Vice Chairman of the Governing Board, Berne

Fritz Zurbrügg was born in Zurich in 1960. He studied economics at the University of Berne, completing his degree in 1985 and his doctorate in 1989.

Also in 1989, Fritz Zurbrügg joined the Federal Finance Administration (FFA) in Berne. From 1992 to 1994, he worked for the International Monetary Fund (IMF) in Washington as an economist in the Africa Department, before returning to the FFA and assuming leadership of the ‘IMF and International Finance’ section. From 1998 to 2006, he was Senior Advisor and Executive Director for Switzerland at the IMF in Washington, and represented the interests of Switzerland as well as those of Azerbaijan, the Kyrgyz Republic, Poland, Serbia/Montenegro, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan on the Executive Board. After returning to Berne, he headed the Fiscal Policy, Fiscal Equalisation and Financial Statistics section of the Federal Finance Administration. In April 2010, he was appointed Director of the Federal Finance Administration by the Federal Council. His responsibilities included drawing up the Confederation budget and financial plan, the implementation of the debt break, as well as liquidity and debt management for the Confederation. He also represented Switzerland in domestic and international committees of experts on financial policy.

Effective August 2012, the Federal Council appointed Fritz Zurbrügg as Member of the SNB’s Governing Board. At the same time, he became Head of Department III (Financial Markets, Banking Operations and Information Technology). With effect from 1 July 2015, the Federal Council appointed him Vice Chairman of the Governing Board. With this position, he also took over management of Department II (Financial Stability, Cash, Finance and Risk) in Berne.

Fritz Zurbrügg is married and the father of three sons.

Relevant affiliations

Currently no relevant affiliations

Andréa M. Maechler, Member of the Governing Board, Zurich

Andréa M. Maechler was born in Geneva in 1969. She studied economics at the University of Toronto, and then at the Graduate Institute of International Studies in Geneva, where she obtained her Master’s in International Economics. Following a period of study at the Institute of Advanced Studies in Public Administration in Lausanne, she obtained her PhD in International Economics from the University of California, Santa Cruz in 2000.

Andréa M. Maechler’s early career took her to the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) and the World Trade Organization (WTO). From 1999 to 2001, she worked as an economist in the Swiss National Bank’s (SNB) Financial Stability unit in Zurich. She then moved to the International Monetary Fund (IMF), where she occupied a number of senior positions in the Africa, Monetary and Capital Markets, Western Hemisphere and Strategy, Policy and Review departments. From 2012 to 2014, during a sabbatical from the IMF, she worked for the European Systemic Risk Board (ESRB) in Frankfurt. Upon returning to the IMF, she was appointed as Deputy Division Chief in the Global Markets Analysis Division. The functions of this division include monitoring global capital markets, and assessing systemic risks and the macrofinancial impact of capital market developments.

With effect from 1 July 2015, the Federal Council appointed Andréa M. Maechler as Member of the SNB’s Governing Board – the first woman to occupy a Board position. At the same time, she became Head of Department III (Financial Markets, Banking Operations and Information Technology).

Andréa M. Maechler is married and has two children.

Relevant affiliations

Currently no relevant affiliations

Imprimer

Direction générale

Thomas J. Jordan, président de la Direction générale, Zurich

Thomas J. Jordan est né à Bienne en 1963. Il a étudié l’économie politique et la gestion d’entreprise à l’Université de Berne. Licencié en 1989 et promu docteur en sciences économiques en 1993, il a rédigé sa thèse d'habilitation aux Etats-Unis, auprès du Department of Economics de l’Université de Harvard (Cambridge, Massachusetts), lors d'un séjour de recherches postdoctorales de trois ans. En 1998, il a été nommé privat-docent puis, en 2003, professeur honoraire à l’Université de Berne, où il enseigne la théorie et la politique monétaires.

Thomas J. Jordan est entré en 1997 à la Banque nationale suisse (BNS), à Zurich, comme conseiller scientifique au 1er département. Promu sous-directeur en 1999 au sein de l'unité d'organisation (UO) Etudes économiques, il a pris la tête de l'UO Recherche en 2002, avant d'accéder au rang de directeur début 2004. Au milieu de cette même année, le Conseil fédéral l'a nommé membre suppléant de la Direction générale. Dans le cadre de cette fonction, il a dirigé le domaine Marchés financiers au 3e département (Opérations sur les marchés monétaire et des changes, Gestion des actifs, Gestion des risques et Analyse des marchés financiers). En mai 2007, à la suite de sa nomination comme membre de la Direction générale par le Conseil fédéral, il a repris les rênes du 3e département (Marchés financiers, Opérations bancaires et Informatique), puis celles du 2e département à Berne (Stabilité financière, Billets et monnaies, Finances et risques), après sa nomination début 2010 comme vice-président de la Direction générale. Le 18 avril 2012, le Conseil fédéral l’a nommé président de la Direction générale et chef du 1er département (Affaires économiques, Coopération monétaire internationale, Affaires juridiques et services, Secrétariat général) à Zurich, et ce avec effet immédiat. Il a été président du conseil d’administration de SNB StabFund entre 2008 et 2013, de la création à la liquidation du fonds de stabilisation.

Thomas J. Jordan est membre du conseil d'administration de la Banque des Règlements Internationaux (BRI), à Bâle, et du comité directeur du Conseil de stabilité financière (CSF). Il est gouverneur suisse auprès du Fonds monétaire international (FMI), ainsi que président du Central Bank Counterfeit Deterrence Group (CBCDG; groupe de dissuasion de la contrefaçon des banques centrales) du G10. Il est membre du Conseil de fondation de la Fondation de promotion des masters en droit et sciences économiques de l’Université de Saint-Gall, membre du Conseil de fondation de l’ETH Zurich Foundation et président du Conseil de fondation du Centre international d’études monétaires et bancaires (CIMB), à Genève. Il a publié de nombreux articles sur la théorie et la politique monétaires dans des revues spécialisées de renommée internationale.

Principaux liens d’intérêts durant les cinq dernières années

Aucun

Fritz Zurbrügg, vice-président de la Direction générale, Berne

Fritz Zurbrügg est né à Zurich, en 1960. Il a étudié l’économie politique à l'Université de Berne, où il a obtenu sa licence en 1985 puis son doctorat en 1989.

Fritz Zurbrügg est ensuite entré à l'Administration fédérale des finances (AFF), à Berne. De 1992 à 1994, il a travaillé comme économiste au département Afrique du Fonds monétaire international (FMI), à Washington. A son retour à l'AFF, il a pris la tête de la section «FMI et questions financières internationales». De 1998 à 2006, il a été conseiller principal et administrateur pour le groupe de pays représenté par la Suisse au FMI, à Washington. Dans le cadre de cette fonction, il a défendu les intérêts de la Suisse, mais aussi ceux de l'Azerbaïdjan, de l’Ouzbékistan, de la Pologne, de la République kirghize, de la Serbie/Monténégro, du Tadjikistan et du Turkménistan. Revenu à Berne, il a dirigé la division «Politique budgétaire, péréquation financière, statistique financière» de l'AFF. En avril 2010, le Conseil fédéral l'a nommé directeur de l'AFF. Responsable notamment de l'établissement du budget et de la planification financière de la Confédération, de la mise en œuvre du frein à l'endettement ainsi que de la gestion des liquidités et de l'endettement de la Confédération, il a représenté la Suisse dans des instances nationales et internationales de politique financière.

Nommé par le Conseil fédéral membre de la Direction générale de la Banque nationale suisse avec entrée en fonctions le 1er août 2012, Fritz Zurbrügg a pris à cette date la tête du 3e département (Marchés financiers, Opérations bancaires et Informatique). Au 1er juillet 2015, le Conseil fédéral l’a appelé à la vice-présidence de la Direction générale. Il est depuis lors chef du 2e département à Berne (Stabilité financière, Billets et monnaies, Finances et risques).

Principaux liens d’intérêts depuis son entrée en fonctions en 2012

Aucun

Andréa M. Maechler, membre de la Direction générale, Zurich

Andréa M. Maechler est née en 1969 à Genève. Ses études en économie politique l’ont menée à l’Université de Toronto, puis à l’Institut universitaire de hautes études internationales à Genève, où elle a obtenu le master en économie internationale. Elle a étudié ensuite à l’Institut de hautes études en administration publique à Lausanne, avant de se rendre à l’Université de Californie à Santa Cruz, où elle a été promue docteur en économie internationale en 2000.

Andréa M. Maechler a commencé son parcours professionnel à l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE), et l’a poursuivi à la Conférence des Nations Unies sur le commerce et le développement (CNUCED), puis à l’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC). De 1999 à 2001, elle a travaillé comme économiste à la Banque nationale suisse (BNS) à Zurich, dans le domaine de la stabilité financière. Elle a ensuite rejoint le Fonds monétaire international (FMI), où elle a assumé diverses fonctions dirigeantes au sein du Département Afrique, du Département des marchés monétaires et de capitaux, du Département Hémisphère occidental et du Département de la stratégie, des politiques et de l’évaluation. Durant un congé accordé par le FMI, elle a œuvré de 2012 à 2014 au sein du Comité européen du risque systémique (CERS) à Francfort. Après son retour au FMI, elle a été nommée chef adjoint de la Division de l’analyse des marchés mondiaux. Cette division est notamment chargée de la surveillance des marchés des capitaux et de l’évaluation aussi bien des risques systémiques que des implications macro-financières de l’évolution sur les marchés des capitaux.

Le Conseil fédéral a nommé Andréa M. Maechler membre de la Direction générale de la BNS, avec effet au 1er juillet 2015. Elle est la première femme à occuper une telle fonction. Elle a pris à cette date la tête du 3e département (Marchés financiers, Opérations bancaires et Informatique).

Principaux liens d’intérêts depuis son entrée en fonctions en 2015

Aucun